Card Making

A Baby Card + Using Negative Die Cut Space

Hello fellow crafters!

Thank you for finding my little nook on the internet and taking the time to read this post. Today, I begin my blogging adventure, which I find very exciting, even if I’m a little nervous. However, I hope to share my love of crafting with you and I hope you find my creations (primarily card making) of some interest 🙂

The card for today was designed to congratulate someone for the birth of their twins, and so, I decided to create it using the “Up and Away” stamp set from Mama Elephant.

WP_20160327_12_47_15_Pro

I began by stamping the monkey with Ranger Archival Jet Black ink, masking it off with a post-it-note, before stamping the fox and (hopefully) they look like they’re holding hands! The balloons were stamped and painted at the same time using the St Petersburg White Nights watercolour paints. Glossy accents were added to the tips of the animal’s nose and each balloon individually, just to give them a bit of definition… I then decided they needed more definition… so added a second coating!

WP_20160327_12_44_01_Pro

All three pattern papers came from Echo Park’s Sunny Days Ahead pack, I die cut a selection of clouds using the Joy! Crafts clouds die, the congratulations using one of the Taditional Sentiments from First Edition Dies and cut a My Favourite Things pierced rectangle. After running the rectangle through the machine, I shifted the paper down a couple of centimetres in the die, before sending it through again, to make it slightly slimmer.

WP_20160327_12_43_13_Pro (2).jpg

I adhered some checked paper down to a lemon yellow 5″ x 7″ card base, the same patterned paper I used for the “congratulations”, which, of course, I added Glossy Accents to… only one layer this time 😉 I stamped the strings then added the glossy balloons and the animals at the end of the strings. Foam tape was added to the back of the blue paper I die cut the clouds from and to the end of the rectangle which the “congratulations” is now stuck to.

And that was that! I really enjoyed making this card and, hopefully, you liked reading how I made it 🙂

Thanks for visiting and I hope to see you again soon,

Emma x

 

 

Leave a Reply

