Card Making

Inlaid Die Cutting + Stitching on Card

Hello again!

Last night, I was scrolling through crafty blogs (as you do) and found a couple of challenges that I thought I would combine. I have never participated in any of these before but I’ve had an idea rolling around my head for a couple of days and seeing the prompts brought it together. I’ve linked below the challenges I will be participating in…

Moving Along With The Times – In The Garden [Ends: 30th March 2016 – Tonight]

Pile It On – Stitching [Ends: 2nd April 2016]

Di’s Digi Designs Challenge – For The Girls [Ends: 8th April 2016]

Melon Headz Friends – Throw On The Flowers [Ends: 10th April 2016]

WP_20160330_13_34_38_Pro

Anyway… onto the card… I began by die cutting the two largest My Favourite Things Pierced Tags with patterned paper from a Crate Paper pad, then used back-stitch around the edges. To the larger of the two, I used the Fiskars Medium Hole Punch… to punch a hole 🙂 and to the smaller, I pierced holes in a curved, stem-like fashion before using back-stitch then adhering a flower embellishment.

WP_20160330_13_34_03_Pro

And now for some inlaid die cutting! A My Favourite Things Pierced Rectangle was die cut and I ran the rectangle through the machine again with the “Just For You” from First Edition Dies – Traditional Sentiments in the centre. I die cut a second “Just For You” with another pattern from the Crate Paper pad and after placing foam tape on the back of the rectangle, the maroon sentiment was placed inside along with the “background” areas of the green card – just like a jigsaw 😉 . Foam tape was added to the back of the smaller tag so it could stick to the larger with some dimension and some Dovecraft Cupcake Boutique Twine was thread through the hole to finish.

WP_20160330_13_34_08_Pro

Even if these challenges have ended, there are many, many, others out there and I think they’re very fun to do :). So, if you are struggling for inspiration or just want to give something else a try, have a go and maybe you’ll come up with something great.

Hope to see you soon,

Emma x

 

6 thoughts on “Inlaid Die Cutting + Stitching on Card

  1. This is lovely! The papers are so pretty. So glad you’ve decided to participate in challenges! And thanks for joining us at Melonheadz Friends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

