Card Making

Embossing on Acetate

Hello,

Have you ever found a stamp/die and just thought “such-and-such” will really like that? Well, the other week, I bought the Tim Holtz Stampers Anonymous Blueprints 1 stamp set and noticed the sewing machine image which I thought would be perfect for someone who is code named “sew special” because if they saw this before the post arrived it would just spoil the surprise! This card is also my entry to the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge, with had the theme of “We Can See Clearly”.

WP_20160404_14_19_23_Pro

The main “clearly” part of my card is an embossed piece of acetate; I used the docrafts Quilting Embossing Folder. This pattern gives a lovely affect, especially when placed against the 6″x6″ kraft card base I used. The embossing folder was A6, however, I think the acetate works well as a panel in the middle of the card. To keep with the “stitched” theme, I decided that instead of using an adhesive, which would show up through the acetate and have to be hidden, I would sew  around the edge of the card.

WP_20160404_12_42_58_Pro (2)

The second part of the “clearly”, I suppose, was using my watercolours to paint the sewing machine. I also stamped the image onto a paper from the Crate Paper pack which looks like a distressed sewing pattern – I thought it was perfect. I then die cut around it using a My Favourite Things Pierced Rectangle and, of course, stitched through the pierced holes before gluing the watercoloured image on top. To create the sentiment for my “sew special” person, I used a First Edition Dies alphabet with The Works – Endless Love paper.

WP_20160404_14_20_23_Pro.jpg

Fingers crossed my “sew special” person doesn’t see this before the postie gets to them!

Emma x

Leave a Reply

