Card Making

Negative Die Cut Sentiment

Hello!

I have found social media to be a great tool when crafting, whether it be card making or otherwise, it is a good place to find inspiration. My personal favourites are pintrest and Instagram, the latter of which was where I was inspired to make today’s card.

Spellbinders D-lites Lily of the Valley; First Edition Dies Taditional Sentiments; Tag (3)

I used a set of Spellbinders flower dies, there are two dies in the set, a bluebell and a lily of the valley (my mum’s favourite flower <3) – I think these dies are  pretty without being fancy and frilly (not my thing). I went with the lily of the valley for this project and die cut it from greeny-grey card. I thought it went nicely with the purple, which, I have to admit was recycled from the cover of a old school book! I ran that through my die cutting machine with the second largest My Favourite Things Pierced Tag die which I then die cut a “Just For You” from the First Edition Dies Traditional Sentiments. Around the edge of the tag, I stitched in a thread closely matching the green-grey of the flower.

Spellbinders D-lites Lily of the Valley; First Edition Dies Taditional Sentiments; Tag (4)

In my previous post, I created a watercoloured background with masking fluid, today however, no masking fluid was used and I used cold pressed paper – which gave a different look. Again, I taped the paper down before wetting it entirely then dropping in the paint [Indanthrene Blue, Turquoise Blue, Indigo and Violet]. After the paint had dried, I die cut the largest of the tag dies and stitched around the edge using the same thread.

Spellbinders D-lites Lily of the Valley; First Edition Dies Taditional Sentiments; Tag (1)

To create the negative die cut sentiment, I placed the purple tag on top of the larger and taped it down so it wouldn’t move. The die cut “Just For You” was placed inside the open space before gluing the small pieces in-between. After removing the sentiment, I wrapped some of the grey thread around the purple tag and tied a small bow, securing it with a tiny blob of glue. The strands of thread on the reverse side of the tag were secured when  I used double sided sellotape to adhere the purple tag to the watercoloured and, for the more intricate pieces of the sentiment, glue was used. To finish, foam pads were added to the back of the tag and I adhered it to a card base, slightly smaller than C6, with the spiral edge already cut.

Spellbinders D-lites Lily of the Valley; First Edition Dies Taditional Sentiments; Tag (2)

Like I said, I love to use social media as a “tool” when crafting, it is great for generating ideas but don’t forget to put down the technology and get out your crafting supplies… sometimes the best creations come from just messing about 🙂

Emma x

One thought on “Negative Die Cut Sentiment

Leave a Reply

