ATC · Card Making

Using a Hole Punch to make a Stencil

Hello!

Back again with another challenge entry, for the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge this time, which, has the theme of “Let’s Do The Polka”. I really enjoyed making the ATC for the Simon Says Stamp’s Monday Challenge so decided I would make another using the third largest tag die from My Favourite Things, just using plain white card. I blended Mama Elephant’s Pacific Blue and Moonlight ink together to create the background.

Tim Holtz Wildflower die; Dandelion (1)

For this ATC, I created another stencil with acetate, this time using the Fiskars Medium Hole punch. I took a piece of scrap paper and, cutting it to the same size as my piece of acetate, made a mark every 1 cm apart. Lining up the two pieces, I taped them together with micropore and used the marks as a guide when punching the holes. The stencil was then placed over the tag and I blended the Ink It Up! Metallic Gold over it.

Tim Holtz Wildflower die; Dandelion (4)

The flower is from the Tim Holtz Alterations Wildflower Die set (which I love and is a firm favourite 🙂 ) I coloured it with my inks to be a dandelion; Mama Elephant Mojito for the stem, I don’t have a brown ink so the base of the flower was created using the Mojito ink and HobbyCraft Christmas Red, then for the seeds, I used a little Mama Elephant Moonlight ink and blended it out.

Tim Holtz Wildflower die; Dandelion (2)

After finding the sweet quote “some see a weed, others see a wish”, I printed it off my computer with a distressed background. Black ink was brushed against the edges of the quote. Some grey thread was wound around the tag and tied in a bow, which, was secured with a blob of glue. To finish, I used the hole punch on the tag and then thread some Lawn Fawn Cloud Twin through.

Tim Holtz Wildflower die; Dandelion (3)

I hope you liked seeing how I made this tag, let me know what you think of it 🙂

Emma x

One thought on “Using a Hole Punch to make a Stencil

  1. Cool idea making your own stencil by punching holes. Adds a lovely subtle texture to the background of your tag. Love your tag. Thanks for joining in the Let’s Polka challenge at Simon Says Stamp Challenge!
    Gayatri xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

