Card Making

World Stationery Day

Happy World Stationery Day everyone!

My family has… issues when it comes to stationery – my sister and I have so many brand new notebooks and pens, we joke that we could build a stationary shop, and, at one point, my brother had a collection of erasers! I also love writing sets, my favourite is a collection of papers, envelopes and post cards with the illustrations of Beatrix Potter (my watercolour idol!). Her paintings are so beautiful that I don’t want to destroy the pages… it must be noted that I got this set when I was about ten! Anyway, I decided to create some cute paper and decorate an envelope, just for something a bit different.

Happy Mail; Mama Elephant Honey Bunny

I began with a white envelope and blended the Broken China and Peacock Feathers Distress Inks. I die cut a My Favourite Things Pierced Tag and, using micropore to hold it down, blended Hero Arts Tide Pool ink around the edges to highlight the address area. The moustaches were taken from Mama Elephant’s Honey Bunny set and I stamped them in the Tide Pool ink. The Christmas Red ink from HobbyCraft was used to stamp the “You’ve got happy mail” stamp from the WPlus9 Happy Mail set and the heart stamp was taken from the HobbyCraft Love Hearts stamp set.

 

For the paper, I stamped the moustache first, again in the Tide Pool ink, along with the rabbit from the same stamp set. Masking them off with a post-it-note, I blended the same three blues as on the envelope. The speech bubble is actually one of the Docrafts X cut Speech Bubble dies, which I made into a stencil with acetate and blended the Christmas Red ink over it. The paper was finished off by adding a “Hello” from the Hero Arts Many Everyday Messages set.

WP_20160426_10_35_03_Pro (2)

I think the moustached rabbit is very cute… so I just had to enter it into the Crafty Friend Challenge as it has the theme of “All Things Cute”. However, because of this I doubt I’ll be writing on the paper any time soon. And so this, like all the stationery sets before, shall be relegated to the drawer, it will probably be looked at once in a while when I’m having a tidy and I’ll think “aww, isn’t that sweet!” It will then go back in the drawer, most likely never used… maybe one day 🙂

Emma x

2 thoughts on “World Stationery Day

Leave a Reply

