Felt

Stretching Your Dies: Felt Key Rings

Hello again,

Today is Handmade Day; in our house we have a lot of handmade crafty things, mostly made by my siblings and I. My brother made the “Keys” plaque that you will see in one of the pictures, he used his pyrography set to write on the wood and, after drilling the holes, added the hooks. This felt project was originally created for my mum this mothers day, and, as someone who has medium experience with felt and sewing, one of these key rings took me about an afternoon to make.

Felt Keyrings (4)

To begin with, I die cut two circles which measure 5 cm in diameter, used the smaller of the two flowers from the Sizzix Bigz XL Everyday  Essentials and the larger of the two scalloped edge circles from the Sizzix Big Shot Plus Starter Kit Thinlits dies – all from felt. I’ve seen various tips online as to how to get better results, however, I just put the dies and felt in together – the only thing I would say is too not put more than two pieces of felt in together as, when I did it, the felt seemed to get pulled and stretched in the machine.

For the chain, I opened a jump ring and hooked the end of a 6 cm chain onto it before closing with pliers. The jump ring was then sewn onto the middle of one of the circles with a whipping stitch and covered with the flowers and wooden button which were sewn on with embroidery thread using back stitch.

To attach the other circle, I used blanket stitch for the most part, however, the stitching on the edge of the petals were too near the edge to continue doing that all the way around, so I just went over them with back stitch. When there was a gap over 2.5 – 3 cm I stuffed the “pocket” then finished the stitching. To secure the chain, I added a couple of straight stitches. I finished by attaching a jump ring and key ring to the top end of the chain.

Felt Keyrings (2)

I hope you enjoyed reading and will pop by again soon,

Emma x

Leave a Reply

