Card Making

Ink Blending Extravaganza!

Hello!

I am a huge fan of ink blending (as you can probably tell from today’s card 🙂 ) which is something I am quite new to but am loving already! I also have a couple of paper punches which I’ve had for a quite a while and didn’t really think about but when I saw them the other day, I thought I would use them to create my own embellishments – and I think they’re quite cute (even if I do say so myself 😉 ).

I am going to be entering this card into several challenges:

Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge – Emboss It

Seven Hills Crafts May Challenge – Embossing

Creative Knockout – Tic-Tac-Toe Bingo [Flowers; Sentiment; Die Cuts/ Punches]

Card A Day Challenge Blog – Colour Challenge Tuesday

Ink Blending Extravaganza (1)

So, to begin my ink blending extravaganza, I took a white 6″ x 6″ card base and started blending the Mustard Seed and Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink, along with a little Rusty Hinge around the edges. For the embossed panel, I blended the Broken China and Peacock Feathers Distress Inks and cut the rectangle from the largest My Favourite Things Pierced Rectangle die before using the Me to You A6 Doilies embossing folder. I added double-sided sellotape to the back of the panel and wound some Lawn Fawn Cloud twine around then adhered it to a strip of 100gsm vellum with foam tape.

Ink Blending Extravaganza (3)

I used the fourth largest Lil’ Inkers Designs Dual Stitched Circle Mat die and blended ink in the same way as the card base and foam tape was added to the back. The “Birthday Wishes” sentiment was taken from the First Edition Dies Traditional Sentiments and coloured with the Picked Raspberry Distress Ink and Hero Arts Ultra Pink ink around the edges. To create the embellishments, I used a flower punch with the vellum and adhered a tiny orange bead to the centre – hiding the glue used to attach the flowers to the circle.

Ink Blending Extravaganza (2)

I think this card is quite versatile, simply by changing the sentiment and colours it could be for, almost, any occasion.

Thanks for stopping by and, hopefully, I’ll see you again soon!

Emma x

4 thoughts on “Ink Blending Extravaganza!

  1. Beautiful job on the blending! Thanks so much for playing in our Seven Hills Crafts challenge this month – I hope we’ll seen you again with your creations next month!

    Julia

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You did a remarkable job on this card! The colors you chose were so unique and pair beautifully together. I also like how you tied the embossing into the background. The use of the beads to cover up your gluing on the vellum was a stroke of genius and this whole card is stunning! Thank you so much for sharing your work with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you – keep practicing, sometimes things take time. There are many techniques that I’ve had to work at. Online, we only see the finished product and often not the practicing that brought the work to that point! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

