Card Making

Creating a Background with a Sentiment stamp

Hello!

Today, I have two cards for you using stamps from Purple Onion Designs – I have admired this stamp company for quite some time, however, living in the UK has meant huge shipping costs from America. I’ve put off getting some of these stamps for a while, so when some became available on ebay (YAY!), I had to bid and I was lucky enough to win some 🙂

Purple Onion Designs (3)

For the images, I stamped Puddles the Dog and Chloe the Rabbit from Purple Onion Designs onto a panel of hot pressed watercolour paper cut from the largest My Favourite Things Pierced Rectangle die. The curve was created with the largest Lil’ Inkers Designs Dual Stitched Mat Circle die. The images were then coloured with my watercolour paints and pencils.

Purple Onion Designs (1)

The card base was created by embossing the largest My Favourite Things Pierced Rectangle onto some kraft card and used the paper trimmer on three of the “cut” lines and scored and folded the other. I stamped the “Thank You” sentiment from Purple Onion Designs Everyday Calligraphy set in Mama Elephant’s Moonlight ink. Double sided sellotape was added to the back of the watercolour piece and I lined up the pierced holes and edges. I stamped the “Thank You” sentiment again with some Versafine Onyx Black ink on some kraft card and matted that with some vellum – foam was used to mount that  onto the card.

Purple Onion Designs (2)

I sometimes struggle to think of more masculine card ideas but as I was making the first card, I thought that the “Thank You” worked really well as a background and it would look good as a very clean and simple card. For this second card, I used the Avery Elle Thank You die with the stacked die cut technique, and again used the Purple Onion Designs stamp and embossed the card base in the same way as the first card.

These cards will be entered in the CASology “CAS“, Die Cutting Diva’s “Anything Goes with Die Cuts” and Addicted to Stamps “Anything Goes“.

I hope you enjoyed seeing these cards and will pop by again soon,

Emma x

2 thoughts on “Creating a Background with a Sentiment stamp

  1. yyaaaayyy I love this cute Image
    your card so cute and love the design on it
    adorable and cute card you made
    luv luv luv
    Many thanks for joining us at ATSM this week
    hugs,
    Monika (DT Member)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

