Card Making · Moving Along With The Times

Using Washi Tape to Create a Background

Hello crafty friends ūüôā

So, we are onto card number 2 for Moving Along With The Times! The theme for this fortnight is “Music”, if you’d like to join in the challenge (or just want to see what other members of the Design Team have come up with) head over to the Moving Along With The Times blog and make sure you enter before Wednesday 22nd June at 6pm BST. I will also be entering this card into other challenges: Crafting with Dragonflies “Animals“, Stampotique Designers Challenge “All Creatures Great and Small“, Ellibelle’s Creative Moments “Critters and Creatures“, Stamps & Fun = Creativity “Stripes“, AAA Cards “Watercolours” and Stamping Sensation “Feature a Creature“.

Using Washi Tape to Create a Background (2)

First, I cut the largest My Favourite Things Pierced Rectangle die from hot pressed watercolour paper and stamped the elephant from Mama Elephant’s Ella and Friends along with the musical notes from the W Plus 9 Happy Mail set. I covered the elephant and musical notes with masking fluid, after that had dried, I covered the panel with a wash of oranges and yellows.

Using Washi Tape to Create a Background (1)

As I waited for that to dry, I took a white A2 card base and, using washi tape, created stripes 1 cm apart. I then blended Peacock Feathers and Broken China Distress Inks and Hero Arts Cornflower ink in a gradient. The same inks were used on a teeny-tiny speech bubble cut using a docrafts X-Cut Speech Bubble die and stamped a couple of quavers, again, from the W Plus 9 Happy Mail set. For the mat, I cut a rectangle slightly larger than the watercoloured panel and blended some Mojito ink from Mama Elephant.

Using Washi Tape to Create a Background (4)

The elephant was painted with a wash of Cerelium Blue, then the shadows were coloured with a mix of Paynes Grey and Sepia before finally covering with a¬†wash of Paynes Grey. For the “tightrope” sentiment, I cut the smallest My Favourite Things Pierced Rectangle die and blended the ink in the same way as the speech bubble. I then stamped the¬†“Just a note” from Hero Arts Many Everyday Messages and punched a hole in either side of the rectangle which I threaded some Lawn Fawn Cloud twine through. I adhered the watercoloured piece to the green mat with double sided sellotape and the twine was wound around both. Foam tape was then added to the back and that was adhered to the card base.

Using Washi Tape to Create a Background (3)

I did make this card about a month ago, I loved it so made a similar card and posted it on Instagram – pop over if you’d like to see my¬†past creations and¬†the many more creations to come!¬†I hope you’ll¬†head over to the Moving Along With The Times challenge blog¬†and, if you have just arrived from MAWTT, I thank you most kindly for taking an interest in my card ūüôā

Love to you all,

Emma x

10 thoughts on “Using Washi Tape to Create a Background

  1. Love that combo of the masked stripes behind and the soft wash of the foreground. And of course the elephant is just too cute. Thanks for playing at AAA Cards.

    Like

  2. Love your elephant on a tightrope. I love the effect of the masking fluid over the elephant and the beautiful color wash Wonderful techniques used here that work together beautifully. Thanks so much for joining us at AAA Cards for our watercolor challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

