Card Making · Moving Along With The Times

Creating a Scene Inside an Embossed Frame

Hello!

Today, is the beginning of a new Moving Along With The Times challenge; this fortnights theme is “No Design Papers”. I did go a little extreme with this clean and simple card, however, I really enjoy just stamping an image and embossing a frame around it, as you can probably tell from my previous post. This challenge will be running until 20th July at 6pm BST – so make sure you get your entries in before then, if you would like to enter!

July MAWTT - No Design Papers (1)

On a 6″x6″ kraft card base, I embossed the largest Lil’ Inkers Designs Dual Stitched Mat die with the Spellbinders embossing tan mat, and, using the same die, cut a mask out of scrap paper. This was  so I could use the flower stamp from the Dovecraft Best Mum set and create a little scene inside the embossed circle. The flying fairy was from All Night Media (I think), quite a few years ago; my mum used to stamp it onto letters from “fairies” in the garden. Then I just had fun colouring the images with my pencils.

July MAWTT - No Design Papers (3)

I didn’t have a stamp with the type of message that I wanted so printed the “Have a magical day” onto 100gsm vellum – to prevent the ink from bleeding, I picked a font that wasn’t too bold and in “Printer Properties” selected “Matte Photo Paper”. After trimming it down and creating a forked banner, I attached this to my card with thread. To finish the card, I created a couple of embellishments with two butterfly punches and vellum. Simply by placing the smaller butterfly on top of the larger, folding in half and punching two holes which I used to sew the butterflies together… and hide the adhesive! 😉 I also used the same butterfly embellishment in this previous post.

July MAWTT - No Design Papers (2)

I’ll be entering this card into a couple of challenges; Crafty Sentiments Designs “Flowers“, Digi  Choosday Crafting Challenge “CAS“, House Mouse & Friends Monday Challenge “Female Birthday“, The Crafter’s Café “Things With Wings“, and Create A Smile “Birthday“.

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading about my card and will take a look at this weeks challenge, even just to see what lovely cards the other ladies have come up with on the Design Team.

Emma x

p.s. I do believe in fairies! I do! I do! (I also watched Peter Pan a lot when I was younger! 😉 )

6 thoughts on “Creating a Scene Inside an Embossed Frame

  1. What a fantastic technique and the result is stunning.Your pencil colouring on the kraft is so beautiful and effective.Thanks for joining us at Crafty Sentiments.Hope to see you again next week.
    Lisa x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

