Card Making · Moving Along With The Times

Wedding Tag + Painting Die-cuts

Hello all!

Today, we have a fun challenge starting over at Moving Along With The Times with the theme of “All Kinds of Everything”. This fortnight, we’d like you to take at least one element from the first verse of the 1970 Eurovision song of the same name as the theme sung by Dana.

Snowdrops and daffodils
Butterflies and bees
Sailboats and fishermen
Things of the sea
Wishing-wells
Wedding bells
Early morning dew
All kinds of everything remind me of you

I thought this was such a fun challenge – I’ll be choosing two (you don’t have to, I just wanted to 😉 ), “snowdrops” and “wedding bells”. This challenge will be ending on Wednesday 14th September at 6pm BST.

Wedding Tag with Painted Die-cuts (1)

I started by die cutting the largest My Favourite Things Pierced tag from a piece of patterned paper from a Crate Paper pad and blending a little distress ink around the edges to make the paper look more “aged”. The definition paper was actually taken from a nature fact book! I simply photocopied the area about Snowdrops and blended Peacock Feathers and Broken China Distress Ink as the sky and Hero Arts Lime Green and Field Greens for the grass then cut this out using a My Favourite Things Pierced Rectangle die.

Wedding Tag with Painted Die-cuts (3)

To create the flowers, I used the Bluebell die from Spellbinders with some watercolour paper and just snipped off all the extra heads and one of the stems, then painted with my watercolours. I think by painting and adding the shadows really help to add a bit of interest so they don’t just look “flat”. For my sentiment, I used an alphabet stamp set to create my custom message on a rectangle cut using the My Favourite Things dies, and after a little more ink blending, used the holes, on the edge of both rectangles and the tag, to add stitching. Just as an extra touch, I added Raffia instead of twine to help give a “rustic” look 😉

Wedding Tag with Painted Die-cuts (2)

I’ll be entering this card into these challenges: Creative Moments “Anything goes/ Weddings &/ or Anniversaries”, Simon Says Stamp “It’s a Stitch Up”, Krafin’ Kimmie Stamps “Vintage/ Distressed”, and DL. Art “Tags”.

I hope you’ll join in at Moving Along With The Times with this fortnight’s challenge – there are lots of possibilities!

Thanks for reading and I hope I’ll see you again soon 🙂

Emma x

5 thoughts on “Wedding Tag + Painting Die-cuts

Leave a Reply

