Card Making · Moving Along With The Times

Mirror Stamping

Hello again!

Today, I am back with another card for the Moving Along With The Times Challenge blog – this fortnight we have a sketch which you have to base your card design on. This is something that I’ve never done before but I really enjoyed “making it my own”. My grandparents recently had their wedding anniversary and, using the sketch for this challenge, made this card for them.

mirror-stamping-2

I began by stamping the cow from My Favourite Thing’s The Whole Herd set onto cold pressed watercolour paper… there isn’t a cow facing the other way in this set so I had to do a bit of mirror stamping.

I found this video very helpful – basically – if you take another stamp, which is bigger than the stamp you intend on using, and turn it upside down on your acrylic block so the smooth back is facing up. Then, because the back of the stamp is slightly tacky, the ink will cling to that part of the stamp and if you quickly place that down onto the paper, you will get an impression of the image. This technique does take a bit of practice but I think the results are definitely worth it! To make the lines bolder and fill in the gaps, I used my dip pen and Indian ink – which is just something I had to hand… I hope that makes sense 🙂

To colour the image, I used some of the Derwent Artist Watercolour Pencils and once that had dried, I die cut the scene using the 2nd Largest Lil’ Inkers Designs Dual Stitched Mat Circle Die.

mirror-stamping-3

I used a 6″ x  6″ card base and cut two squares with my paper trimmer. On the larger, I blended Spun Sugar and Picked Raspberry Distress Ink, and on the card centre, I masked off three stripes with washi tape and blended Evergreen Bough and Peacock Feathers Distress Ink. I then attached a strip of vellum with “Anniversary” stamped onto it with the “Happy” die cut adhered – both are from the Hero Arts Happy Stamp and Cut set.

mirror-stamping-1

The little hearts were created by blending pink ink onto white card then using a heart punch. I covered them with a layer of glossy accents and I couldn’t resist putting one in between the cows – so cute 😉

I’ll also be entering this card into the following challenges: Freshly Brewed Designs “Animals”, Make My Monday “No Patterned Paper”, and Let’s Craft and Create “Spots or Stripes”.

Thank you so much for reading, I hope you’ll pop over to the Moving Along With The Times blog and if you’d like to play along, make sure you enter before 12th October at 6pm BST.

I hope to see you again soon 🙂

Emma x

9 thoughts on “Mirror Stamping

  1. Love this, so so sweet!

    I’m a fellow stamper who makes blank general and thank you pet themed handmade cards and donates them to animal shelters and rescue groups. I’ve just started a new blog, Sending Paw Prints, for this purpose. I love your cards and am hoping if you have a stash of pet themed cards or are interested in making some you’ll think of donating them to Sending Paw Prints.

    http://sendingpawprints.blogspot.com/

    Thank you!
    Karen Howard

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

