Card Making

Creating a Background with Felt Tip Pens

A happy hello fellow crafters!

On Saturday it was World Card Making day (yes, that is actually a real thing 🙂 )! However, which numpty thought there were 31 days in September because she got the rhyme wrong? That would be me! So I didn’t have a blog post prepared to go with the Instagram post. Anyway!

world-card-making-day-1

I began with the stamping; I used Mama Elephant’s Honey Bunny stamp set, I had to do a bit of masking to create my scene and I just did that with a post-it note. I painted these adorable rabbits and the flower (which is from Mama Elephant’s Up and Away Stamp set) with my watercolour paints. Once that had dried, I die cut the 2nd Largest Lil’ Inkers Design’s Dual Stitched Mat Circle die along with the 3rd Largest docrafts X-cut heart die.

world-card-making-day-2

I created the background with some “Washable” Felt tip pens from a stationary shop and they work in a very similar way to distress markers. I used a technique known as “Ink Smooshing” – I scribbled the marker onto some acetate, dropped some water on it, then, holding two sides of the acetate, rolled it over my card a number of times. I really like using the pens for this technique as you can get the texture of the lines drawn.

world-card-making-day-3

I simply cut the panel down to size and, using a setting on my paper trimmer, created a wavy edge. I used the same Lil’ Inkers Circle die to cut out an area to “in-lay” my watercolour pieces into the background, and onto the left over circle, I stamped my sentiment. After I cut the sentiment banner to size, I, again, used  the setting on my paper trimmer to create the wavy edge on the top and bottom. I added a small mat of vellum behind the sentiment then wound some Lawn Fawn Cloud Twine around the panel and tied a small bow.

I will be entering my card into the follow challenges: 4 Crafty Chicks “Die Cuts”, Art Impressions Blog “The Perfect Pair”, Cardz 4 Galz “Autumn Colours”, Inky Chicks “Animals”.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog, I hope you’ll pop by again soon 🙂

Emma x

5 thoughts on “Creating a Background with Felt Tip Pens

Leave a Reply

