Card Making

Quick and Easy Watercolour Christmas Card

Hello!

Today, I have a very simple card using a couple of free gifts I receive when buying the docrafts Creativity magazine. I don’t normally use “traditional” Christmas colours, however, today, I decided to use quite bright “Christmas-y” colours because with the gorgeous candy cane stamp, how could I resist? 😉

In the October issue, there was an adorable Christmas themed stamp set with this brilliant candy cane which I stamped repeatedly on cold pressed watercolour paper. I covered them with Daler Rowney masking fluid and, after that had dried, I wet the paper then dropped Raw Sienna paint onto the page to give it an “aged” look. Once the paint had dried, I removed the masking fluid with my finger and painted the candy canes.

quick-and-easy-card-using-free-docrafts-creativity-magazine-gifts-1

I used the envelope die, from the September Creativity magazine, and painted it the same green as the candy cane. In the same set as the envelope, there was an insert, which I painted Raw Sienna and I used the sentiment from the Ocotber stamp set. I adhered the insert on the inside of the envelope and glued, what would normally be, the front of the envelope onto the background. I wound red twine around my card base and adhered the panel onto my card with foam.

quick-and-easy-card-using-free-docrafts-creativity-magazine-gifts-4

I would like to enter my card into the following challenges: Crazy Challenge “Getting Ready For Christmas”, Clean and Simple on Sunday “Christmas”, Sweet Stamper Challenge “Christmas”, Crafty Creations Challenges “Christmas”, and Double ‘D’ Challenges “Traditional Christmas Colours”.

quick-and-easy-card-using-free-docrafts-creativity-magazine-gifts-2

 

Thanks for visiting, I hope you’ll pop by again soon!

Emma x

6 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Watercolour Christmas Card

Leave a Reply

