A Day for Daisies · Card Making

Snowing Glitter in a Winter Wonderland

A happy hello fellow crafters!

I am very pleased to announce that I am going to be joining the A Day for Daisies blog in January as a Guest Design Team Member – I’m very excited about this as I’ve never guest designed before and I absolutely love the images from A Day for Daisies shop! So, I thought, as a sort of sneak peak of things to come, I would make a card using one of their images.

snowing-in-a-winter-wonderland-5

Today, I am using the adorable Mr Snow Man image, I printed him onto kraft card because I love the look of white coloured pencil on dark card. I ended up colouring this image twice because, being the perfectionist that I am, I wasn’t quite satisfied with the colouring. The snowman with the blue jacket was my first attempt; I just felt that there was enough shading and I didn’t really like the blue jacket. With my second attempt, I used a light blue pencil for shading the snow as well as the grey – as I think this helped add depth to the image.

snowing-in-a-winter-wonderland-4

I die cut around the scene using the 2nd largest My Favourite Things Pierced Tag die, wound some red twine around the bottom and stamped the sentiment in Versafine Onyx Black ink. To add some sparkle, I dotted some glossy accents over the snowflakes in the image and sprinkled over some glitter.

snowing-in-a-winter-wonderland-3

I used the third and fourth largest Lil’ Inkers Designs Dual Stitched Mat Circle dies on some blue shimmer paper, I thought by adding a ‘ring’ it looked a bit different to just a circle. I then ran the largest My Favourite Things Pierced Tag through the die cutting machine with vellum before using the Dovecrafts Krafty Christmas Snowflake embossing folder. The snowflakes looked so effective when pressed into the vellum and I felt it was a shame to cover so much of them up so I’m definitely going to try this again and make more of a feature of the embossing.

snowing-in-a-winter-wonderland-1

On my card base, I repeatedly stamped a triangle pattern (which I thought could maybe pass as trees – what do you think?) in Mama Elephants Moonlight ink and then assembled the card using glue dots and foam tape.

I’m going to be entering my card into the following challenges: Aurora Wings Challenge ‘Winter Wonderland’, Crafty Boots Challenge ‘Winter Wonderland’, A Day For Daisies ‘Add Some Sparkle’, Dream Valley Challenges ‘Christmas’, Addicted to Stamps ‘Snowflakes’, and Challenge Up Your Life ‘Vellum’.

snowing-in-a-winter-wonderland-2

I hope you have a merry Christmas, whatever you are doing, and I’ll be back in the new year with lots more cards and projects!

Emma x

 

 

5 thoughts on “Snowing Glitter in a Winter Wonderland

  1. GORGEOUS coloring with this snowman, Emma! You have inspired me to pull out some colored pencils this month and color on kraft paper. I love the look, too, but only have Crayola pencils. We’ll see how it goes. We’re looking forward to sharing your talents on the ADFD Blog in January. Thanks for playing with December’s Add Some Sparkle Challenge at A Day for Daisies! Hugs, Cathy ADFD DT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

