Card Making · Moving Along With The Times

Up In The Air

Happy New Year crafters!

Today, we have the first challenge of the year starting at Moving Along With The Times – very exciting! The theme for this fortnight is “Something In The Air”. I created this project right before I started my blog and people seemed to like it on Instagram. I never got round to writing this post so thought I would tell you about it today since it fits in with the theme so well.

up-in-the-air-1

I began by stamping the rabbit and balloons from Mama Elephant’s Up and Away Stamp set – I didn’t ink up much of the strings portion of the balloon stamp as I was going to be cutting out the actual balloons themselves later. I coloured the images with my watercolour paints, once that had dried, I went over each balloon with Glossy Accents as I think this helped give the shiny 3D look. I then cut both the rabbit and the balloons out and went around the edge of the images with a black felt tip pen as this helped get rid of the white edge.

up-in-the-air-3

I used the two largest My Favourite Things Pierced Tag dies; the larger to cut some blue card and the smaller to cut a sunbeam pattern from a Crate Paper pad. I mounted some black card onto the back of the sunbeam paper and attached some die cut clouds using some paper from the Echo Park Sunny Days Ahead pad. I also adhered the rabbit down, stamped the strings of the balloons into its hand and onto the background, before putting the balloons in place.

up-in-the-air-2

Along the bottom of the blue tag, I stamped “with love” repeatedly in Mama Elephant Moonlight ink. The smaller tag was adhered to the larger with foam tape and I used the Fiskars Medium Hole Punch in the middle of the larger tag. I added some Lawn Fawn Cloud Twine to finish off my project.

 

I’d like to enter my card into the following challenges: Deep Ocean Challenge ‘Your Absolute no. 1 Project of 2016’, and Bastel Traum  ‘Watercolour’.

I hope you all had a lovely Christmas, whatever you were doing, and had a happy new year.

Emma x

3 thoughts on “Up In The Air

Leave a Reply

