A Day for Daisies · Card Making

Snow Globe Shaker Card with A Day For Daisies

A happy hello fellow crafters!

Today marks my first post and Guest Design Team member for the A Day For Daisies blog – I love the illustrated images from their shop and I can’t wait to show you the cards I have created with some of them. This card is part of the A Day For Daisies challenge which starts today with the theme of ‘Two or More Layers’ – I chose to use the Swing in a Snow Globe digi stamp. I hope you’ll head over to their blog and see what the other designers have created and join in with the challenge.

adfd-challenge-post-3

When I saw the image, I thought ‘this has to be like snow globe’ so I printed off the image twice onto kraft card and die cut both with the 2nd Largest Lil’ Inkers Designs Dual Stitched Mat Circle die. I used my coloured pencils to colour one of the images; to give the grass a more ‘realistic’ look, I created lots of little lines so they looked like tiny blades of grass.

With the other image, I used a craft knife to remove the globe and adhered acetate over the aperture. I had die cut the acetate with the same Lil’ Inkers Designs die that I used to cut the kraft paper – this made it easier when lining the two pieces up. Before I adhered the foam, I knew that I wanted the foam to be a bit thicker so I stuck two pieces of foam together then cut a couple of thin strips as the area that I had to apply the foam was quite small. With the foam being thinner, it was a little more flexible meaning I could use a long strip continuously which was easier to work with and, in my opinion, it looked neater. Before I added the sequins and put the shaker element together, I ran a brush with talc on around the inside of the foam to remove the stickiness so none of the sequins accidentally got stuck or attached.

adfd-challenge-post-2

The sentiment ‘Just a Note’ was stamped onto the base of the snow globe. I cut a scalloped oval from a piece of vellum and with a piece of patterned paper, from Kanban’s Female Backgrounds CD-Rom, cut a scalloped rectangle;  both dies were from Avery Elle’s Sweet Scallops die set. I adhered the layers of my card together with foam and glue dots. Before I attached them to the card base, I wound some Lawn Fawn Cloud Twine around it.

adfd-challenge-post-1

I’d like to enter my card into the following challenges: ‘Ooh La La Creations ‘Feminine’, Card Mania ‘Layer it’, and 4 Crafty Chicks ‘Scrap Papers’.

I hope you have enjoyed reading today’s post and will come back again soon to see more projects with A Day For Daisies images.

Emma x

One thought on “Snow Globe Shaker Card with A Day For Daisies

Comments are closed.