A Day for Daisies · Card Making

Watercolouring a Digi Stamp with A Day For Daisies

Hello

Today, I am back on the A Day For Daisies blog with another card using one of their images; this time using Owl Nephew. I remember seeing this image featured on the A Day For Daisies blog a while ago and loved it, so got it as soon as I was able.

adfd-owl-nephew-4

As I love watercolour, I wanted to see how a digi stamp would fair with a regular printer and no special ink, and I was pleasantly surprised with the results. I used watercolour pencils to colour the image, and, even though the ink did bleed slightly, I could pick most of it up with a piece of Kitchen roll when it was still wet. Once the colouring had dried, I cut the piece out using the second largest My Favourite Things Pierced Rectangle die and, to add some sparkle to the card, I covered the stars with Glossy Accents before coating with glitter.

adfd-owl-nephew-1

To create my backing panel, I cut the largest My Favourite Things Pierced Rectangle from a piece of green card. I then ran two of the stars, from Avery Elle’s Sweet Scallops die set, several times through my die cutting machine with silver paper before adhering them to the green card. I used the same star dies with white card and used the same technique with Glossy Accents to apply the glitter. I wound some silver thread around a 5″ x 7″ kraft card base and adhered the stars over the top of it.

adfd-owl-nephew-2

I used a typewriter alphabet stamp set to create the sentiment and cut it out using the second smallest My Favourite Things Pierced Rectangle die. The banner was originally white so I blended some of Hero Art’s Soft Flower ink to take away the ‘starkness’ of it.

adfd-owl-nephew-3

I’d like to enter my card into the following challenge: Incy Wincy Designs ‘Celebrate’, Bastel Traum ‘Watercolour’, Challenge Up Your Life ‘Self Made Background’, Di’s Digi Designs ‘Celebrations’.

 

Thank you so much for visiting my blog, I hope you’ll pop back again soon to see more creations 🙂

 

Emma x

Leave a Reply

