A Day for Daisies · Card Making

Altering a Digi Stamp with A Day For Daisies

Hello

I have always found it a little difficult finding images of a terrier dog which I like; we have a gorgeous little Cairn Terrier, Milly, and I love giving cards with images coloured to look like the family pets. I was thrilled when I saw this image, Scotty Mistletoe C, in the A Day For Daisies shop as it looks so like Milly!

adfd-scotty-mistletoe-c-2

This was intended to be a Christmas image, and, as the name suggests, there was a piece of mistletoe hanging by the dog; I wanted to use this on a non-seasonal card so simply cropped out the mistletoe when altering the size of the image. I coloured the dog with my pencils and to create the look of fur/hair, I used a flicking motion. I then cut out the image using an oval die from the Avery Elle Sweet Scallops die set. This is my favourite die from the set as it also cuts a scalloped frame which I blended Hero Arts Tide Pool ink over.

adfd-scotty-mistletoe-c-4

From the same die set, I cut another oval from vellum and a scalloped rectangle from a pattern taken from Echo Park’s Sunny Days Ahead paper pad. As the dog is looking quite thoughtful, I decided to use the ‘Thinking of You’ sentiment from Hero Arts Many Everyday Messages and paired with a couple of thought bubbles from docrafts X Cut Speech Bubbles set, I thought it looked so cute… even if I do say so myself 😉

adfd-scotty-mistletoe-c-3

I would like to enter my card into the following challenges: Pattie’s Creations Design “Use an Animal Image”, Kleurn mer Potloden “Animal Card”.

adfd-scotty-mistletoe-c-1

I hope you have enjoyed reading about my card and will pop back again next week for my fourth and final card for A Day For Daisies!

Emma x

5 thoughts on “Altering a Digi Stamp with A Day For Daisies

    1. Our Milly (who inspired the colouring of the dog) is very cute too, although, I suppose I am biased 😉 She is a very furry little thing! I love this way to blend coloured pencil on animals as I think it helps to make them look more realistic.

      Like

Leave a Reply

