A Day for Daisies · Card Making

Poppies with A Day For Daisies

Hello,

Welcome to my fourth and final post for A Day For Daisies – I’m so sad because I’ve loved being part of their team and having fun with their images! I think this card is probably my favourite of the four I created and it is also the simplest.

adfd-fairy-flowers-image-2

I chose the Fairy Flowers image for todays card – I think they look a lot like poppies which is why I coloured the petals red. I used my colouring pencils, working in layers, from dark to light, to get a smooth gradient of colour. I had planned on leaving the area around the poppies white, however, adding the teal really accentuated the red.

adfd-fairy-flowers-image-1

I cut the image out using a couple of dies from the Tonic Studios Special Occasions set and left the frame white as contrast to very bright and bold colouring of the pencil. I raised up the frame on foam which I’d die cut so it matched exactly as it was incredibly intricate. For the background, I created a panel which I had blended Mustard Seed Distress Ink over and used the My Favourite Things Basic Stitch Lines die over it. I really love this die ass it can create gorgeous backgrounds so easily; it doesn’t cut the paper as such, however, it punches a line of different stitches into the paper and looks so beautiful!

adfd-fairy-flowers-image-3

I have loved my time with A Day For Daisies – if you’d like to view the cards below, they link back to their original posts.

colouring-start-to-finish-with-digi-stamps-3 adfd-challenge-post-1

adfd-owl-nephew-3 adfd-scotty-mistletoe-c-2

 

I’d like to enter my card into the following challenges: A Gem of a Challenge “Hearts and or Flowers”, Daring Card Makers “Stitch It”, Come and Get It Challenge “No Design Paper”.

I hope you have enjoyed seeing what I have created and will pop by again soon.

Emma x

4 thoughts on “Poppies with A Day For Daisies

  1. This is a fabulous card! The poppies are so vibrant, and I agree with you – the teal in the background really makes them stand out! Love how this turned out! Thanks for sharing with us at Come and Get It this week 🙂
    Susan – DT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

