Card Making

1 Year Thank You!

A happy hello fellow crafters!

 

Today, I have a very special card as I have been blogging and blabbering on about cards for exactly one year! This is ‘just a note to say’ a very special thank you for all the support I’ve been given this past year – whenever I receive a like or comment, it makes my day! You are so kind with your words and encouragement which have helped me so much – THANK YOU!

I have learned so much this past year – how to use coloured pencil and kraft card, about ink blending, how a MISTI truly is the Most Incredible Stamping Tool Invented and how there are so many lovely people out there who will take the time to read and comment on my posts. But most of all, I’ve been teaching myself to draw and paint with watercolour – I am hoping to be able to turn the illustrations into cards, if you’d like to see what I’ve been doing, head over to my Instagram page. I’ve been Guest Designer for two companies this year (A Day For Daisies and Inspired By Stamping) and I can’t wait to see what the next year will bring!

Now it wouldn’t be a non stop crafting post without the card construction being explained in detail, so… here we go!

I die cut three tags using My Favorite Thing’s 3rd largest Pierced Tag die; one from vellum, one using patterned paper from a Crate Paper pad, and the other from Daler Rowney Cold Pressed Watercolour paper. On the watercolour paper, I stamped the flowers taken from dovercrafts ‘Best Mum’ and a sentiment from Sweet Dixie’s Double Sayings Stamp Set in Ranger Archival Jet Black ink. I covered the flowers and splattered the tag with Daler Rowney Masking Fluid – this protected the paper underneath so it wasn’t touched by the paint. Once that had dried, I covered the tag with watercolour paint and, after waiting for that to dry, I painted a layer of Winsor and Newton Iridescent Medium – adding a very subtle shimmer.

After removing the masking fluid, I painted the flowers and used the flower stamp to do some tone on tone stamping with Hero Arts Cornflower ink. I embossed the tag with the 3rd smallest Lil’ Inkers Designs Dual Stitched Mat Circle die using the Spellbinders Embossing Tan Mat. To finish off the tag, I added stitched around the edges with the pierced holes provided using some light grey thread. I’m not a massive fan of layers, but I think that using soft and subtle layers can really look effective.

I placed washi tape on my card base to create my background and I blended Mama Elephant Moonlight ink over the entire piece which matched the colour of the thread. I removed the washi tape and pierced holes around the outside with a pin to add stitching. I then pierced holes through all of the tags and used the grey and teal thread, which I used for the stitching, to attach them together and adhered the bottom tag onto the card base with double sided tape.

I’d like to enter my card into the following challenges: Deep Ocean Challenge “Flowers Everywhere”, Inky Chicks “Flowers”, Tuesday Throwdown “Sparkles”, Cut It Up “You’ve Got Me In Stitches”, QKR Stampede “Spring is in the Air”, and Colour Throwdown “#463”.

 

Thank you so much for all the support!

Love,

Emma x

 

7 thoughts on “1 Year Thank You!

  1. Your card is stunning! Congratulations on your blog anniversary!

    Thanks for joining us at Cut It Up for our “You’ve Got Me in Stitches” challenge!

    DT Katie
    2craftyKaties.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

