Card Making · Moving Along With The Times

Quick and Easy Card + Tips for Using Watercolour

Hello,

 

Welcome to the beginning of another post for Moving Along With The Times – this fortnight, we have the theme “Fairies” chosen by Janice. When I was little, I used to believe that there were fairies in the garden and the stamp I’m going to be using today is one that my mum used on the letters that the “fairies” would send! This is such a sweet challenge and if you’d like to enter, please make sure your card is linked to the blog before Wednesday 10th May at 6pm BST.

I created a little scene on a piece of watercolour paper that I’d die cut using the 3rd Largest My Favorite Things Pierced Tag. I stamped the fairy first, covered it with a post-it-note, then stamped various flowers from the My Favorite Things Sketched Blooms set in Ranger Archival Jet Black ink. I covered the fairy ink Daler Rowney Masking Fluid so I was able to paint a loose watercolour background without the fairy being disturbed. I used various colours and as I didn’t wait for the paint to dry before moving onto the sections next to it, the colours merged into, and blended with, one another. Once that dried, I removed the masking fluid by gently rubbing it with my finger, and painted the fairy. So as not to detract from the fairy, I added a grey immediately around her to mute the colours of the flowers slightly.

I die cut a piece of vellum with the largest My Favorite Things Pierced Rectangle die and adhered the tag in the centre with foam. The sentiment was taken from the Sweet Dixie Double Sayings set and stamped onto a banner from Inspired By Stamping’s Fancy Labels 3 set. I used Kraft card for the card base and would two colours of thread around to take the “plain-ness” away – I think adding thread has become my thing! As an after thought, I covered the fairies wings and dress with Winsor and Newton’s Iridescent Medium, which is similar to Wink of Stella, just to give that look of “magic” about her.

I hope you have enjoyed seeing this card ad will pop by again soon,

 

Emma x

6 thoughts on “Quick and Easy Card + Tips for Using Watercolour

Leave a Reply

