Card Making · Moving Along With The Times

Using an Embossing Folder as a Background Stamp

Hello!

 

I am back today with a card for the beginning of a new Moving Along With The Times challenge – this fortnight we have a theme of “Graduation” chosen by Amy. Graduation hasn’t been a occasion on my crafting radar so I don’t have any specific dies/stamps to use. It was interesting seeing what I could achieve with what I have. As always this challenge will run for two weeks, ending at 7pm on the 6th June, so make sure to enter your card before then if you would like to take part 🙂

I have started using a new technique which I am loving! After die cutting a rectangle from Avery Elle’s Sweet Scallops die set, I took a Santoro embossing folder and placed some Mama Elephant Moonlight ink on the raised pattern section of the folder. This meant that when I closed the embossing folder, and ran it through my die cutting machine, it printed the pattern onto my paper – very similar to using a background stamp, only there is the added depth of the imprinted embossing. I then would some red ribbon around the panel to add a bit of colour (and hide a couple of mistakes!)

To make the graduation cap, I die cut a square from black felt and foam, which I adhered together, using a die from The Works. I folded a length of gold embroidery thread in half and tied a knot near the bottom then attached it to the centre of the square.

I created my sentiment banner using a die from Inspired By Stamping with a piece of teal card and a message from a Hero Arts stamp set. I used the same coloured card to die cut some bunting and adhered some foam behind two of the flags with the other two resting on the graduation cap. To finish off, I die cut some Memory Box Typewriter Numbers form gold card.

Thank you so much for stopping by – I hope you got inspired to try using your crafty stash in a different way 🙂

Emma x

2 thoughts on “Using an Embossing Folder as a Background Stamp

Leave a Reply

