Card Making

My English Country Garden

Hello all!

 

Today,  we have a new challenge starting over at Moving Along With The Times, this fortnight, with the theme of “English Country Garden” which seems to fit perfectly with the heat wave we’ve been having in the UK! I’ve been out in the garden more and enjoying the flowers which are in full bloom. I love taking photos of flowers and the picture below is of a type of rose called a Lady Strathenden and they are my favorite flower (now that is bold, italic and underlined – that shows how much I like it 😉 )

I used the Poppy image from an Inspired By Stamping set as I thought it looked quite like the rose. I created a “no-line watercolour” look by stamping the image with Mustard Seed Distress Ink. In the shadow areas, I added a grey-ish purple – I think by adding another colour ligthtly, it can help with the realism because most objects rarely appear to be just one colour due to light. I placed some foam behind and adhered that to some vellum which I’d die cut using Tonic Studios Special Occasion dies – I thought that it would tie in well with the theme as I think it looks like lattice.

We also have a lot of heather in our garden… And whilst it isn’t looking its best at the moment, I like the way purple looks with yellow, so I used a Tim Holtz Wildflower to cut some heather from various pattern papers. I then added a couple of butterflies and mounted the vellum panel onto a piece of green pattern paper using the largest My Favorite Things Pierced Rectangle die.

And after adding the sentiment and typical Emma thread around the card base – that is the card finished! If you’d like to join the challenge, make sure you enter your card before Wenesday 5th July.

Thank you for reading and I hope you are having a great summer!

Emma xx

One thought on “My English Country Garden

  1. Hi Emma

    It’s June from Team B…. I love yellow roses and your card caught my eye (sorry it’s taken so long for me to comment), your design is gorgeous

    I ‘ve not seen the Lady Strathenden until now, it’s so beautiful

    Happy crafting

    June 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

