Card Making

How to Create a Scene Around a Stamp

Hello!

 

Today, I have a very adorable card using one of my favourite stamps, which is from Purple Onion Designs. I love the illustrated style, especially, of the Stacy Yaccula range – I thought this beautiful stamp, “Jackson the Bear”, would be perfect for my cousin who is turning 5 in, as he calls it, “tep-tember”. We also have a new challenge starting at Moving Along With The Times where we would like your card to revolve around an age! This challenge will run, as always, for two weeks and will end on Wednesday 2nd August at 6pm BST. 

 

As I said before, I love this stamp, especially, because of its illustrative look. I really enjoy just creating a scene to colour in, and to do that I roughly sketch a scene in the background… It doesn’t look very good at first… But it is all in the shading. When I began watercolour, I found shading difficult, so I would write on a piece of paper “light source” and anything facing that point on the paper, would be lighter. It helped me to have a visual, almost like it was saying “this is the sun and anything not facing it, should be darker” – it was so helpful and now, after practice, no longer need the “light source” paper because it’s just become habit. I know some people find watercolour difficult, however, it is my favourite medium. I have never had a lesson on watercolour – my teachers have been purely YouTube creators, so if watercolour is something you would like to improve upon, thereu are many great videos out there 🙂 

I also drew in a little balloon around the bear, which I painted and adhered a “5” I’d cut using the Memory Box Typewriter Numbers die. The sentiment was created with a Hero Arts “Happy Birthday” cut in half (yes, I cut a stamp in half! Don’t worry, it did no harm! 🙂 ) and place a 5 in the middle. I then just cut the banner down with a paper trimmer.

The background was, again, created with an embossing folder – I think it is a great alternative to purchasing background stamps. After taping the paper down to the embossing folder, I applied the ink and ran the embossing folder through the die cutting machine which gave an extra dimension and a different look to just stamping the pattern. After cutting a 6″ X 6″ card base, I blended Hero Arts Tide Pool and Cornflower ink and wound some grey thread around before adhering the card together.

 

Thank you so much for stopping by and having a read, I hope you enjoyed seeing my card,

 

Emma x

2 thoughts on “How to Create a Scene Around a Stamp

Leave a Reply

