Card Making

Congratulations Shaker Card

A happy hello fellow crafters 🙂

Today, I have a cute little card that I made for my best friend who recently got engaged. I don’t make shaker cards that often as, I find, when doubling up the layers of foam there is always a little bit which the beads or sequins just manage to grab onto. After recently getting some unmounted stamps, which I put onto EZ foam. I found a tip online where, after placing down the stamps, you dab talc into the areas between the stamps to remove the stickiness making it easier when cutting out. And so, I thought maybe, I could apply this to a shaker card…

Congratulations Shaker Card (1)

The two rabbits are from Mama Elephant’s Honey Bunny stamp set – they’re actually the same rabbit, just dressed up slightly differently with accessories from the same set. The rabbits look like they’re holding hands as I covered the “male” rabbit with a post-it-note which had the silhouette of the rabbit stamped and cut out of it. The bow tie was stamped in Hero Arts Lemon Yellow and the moustache in Spiced Marmalade Distress Ink. I then painted the bunnies with watercolours and, because there were a couple of areas that I couldn’t cut with my scissors, painted it the same colour as the pattern paper in the background.

Congratulations Shaker Card (2)

For the shaker element, I cut the second largest Lil’ Inkers Designs Dual Stitched Mat dies from two pattern papers and a piece of acetate. The window was cut from one of the pattern papers with the third largest of the same dies  and the acetate was adhered to the back with double sided sellotape. Behind the frame, foam tape was added, however, I needed more height for the sequins to move about more so added a second layer. To make sure there would be no adhesive on the inside of the aperture for the sequins to stick to, I brushed talc powder around the inside. The sequins were added and the back panel and rabbits were adhered down.

Congratulations Shaker Card (3)

A piece of patterned paper and vellum were die cut using a My Favourite Things Pierced Rectangle and stitched them together. The sentiment was take from the Hero Arts Happy Stamp and Cut; the happy was cut from yellow card whilst the rest of the sentiment was stamped onto vellum.

I’m going to be entering this card into a couple of challenges, I hope that impending nuptials still constitutes as wedding: Cute Card Thursday “Wedding/ Anniversary“, C.R.A.F.T. Challenge “Animals“, Craft Rocket Challenges “Weddings and Things“, The Stamping Boutique “Wedding/ Anniversary” and Morgan’s Artworld “Use Pattern Paper“.

I hope that you’ve enjoyed reading about this card and will come back again soon,

Emma x

5 thoughts on “Congratulations Shaker Card

  1. Fun card, loving the shaker element. Its great how you have made the same stamp look so different.
    Thanks for joining us over at CRAFT. Jean DT XX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment