Card Making · Moving Along With The Times

“Into The Woods” Challenge + Adding Details with Coloured Pencil

Hello fellow crafters,

 

Wow – two posts in two days! Today is the beginning of a new Moving Along With The Times Challenge and… I am the host! It is my first ever time hosting a challenge and it is ridiculous how excited I am! This has come at the perfect time as yesterday, my blog was 1 year old and I have been on the MAWTT design team 1 year in April! I chose the theme of “Into The Woods” as I love nature and the countryside – I hope you’ll join us at the challenge blog, you have until Wednesday 12th April at 6pm BST. I mentioned in my post yesterday how much I’ve come to love coloured pencils on Kraft card so I thought I would share a card using that technique today 🙂

I started by die cutting the film strip from some Kraft card with Just Rite’s Three in a Row die before stamping the little scenes in the squares. I used the animals and accessories from W Plus 9’s Happy Mail stamp set in Versafine Onyx Black ink. I stamped the images I wanted in front first then covered with a mask to make sure the image I stamped on top would appear behind.

I coloured the images with my coloured pencils; to help add shading to the black area in the bear, I used navy in the darkest points and a dark brown in the lighter areas; and for the tree stump, I used a green pencil to give the look of “mossy” areas and I drew little lines to help add texture. The eyes did get a little lost underneath the layers of the pencil, so I drew them back in with a black fine liner.

After cutting a scalloped rectangle, using a die from Avery Elle’s Sweet Scallop set, I ran the piece through the die cutting machine numerous times with the My Favorite Things Stitched Lines dies and blended Broken China Distress Ink over it. I used the Just Rite “Three in a Row” die to cut the striped paper which I slotted in-between the coloured piece and outer frame, which I raised up using black foam that I’d die cut. I adhered that and a sentiment to the background and then used foam squares to adhere the rectangle to the card base.

I would like to enter my card into the following challenges: Fairytale challenge blog “Cards with Animals”, Scrapbook Stamp Society “Anything Goes with option Use Kraft Paper”, Stamping Sensations “Close to Nature”, My Time To Craft “Woodland Animals”, and Cut It Up “You’ve Got Me in Stitches”.

 

Thank you so much for reading!

 

Emma x

 

7 thoughts on ““Into The Woods” Challenge + Adding Details with Coloured Pencil

  1. Congratulations on your one-year blogaversary, Emma, and on your first time hosting a challenge! Your card is fantastic! You are very talented with colored pencils on kraft and I love the texture and dimension of your design! Thank you so much for your kind comment and for following me! I am returning the flavor and look forward to receiving your posts in my inbox! Happy Spring! Hugs, Darnell

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment